Usually full to the brim with Methodists, but you don't have to be one to enjoy it

Great Auditorium in Ocean Grove | APP.com | Monmouth and Ocean counties Features Photo Galleries | Asbury Park Press

Time for Cadaver and Treacle to reminisce and wax nostalgic.  I loved this place as a kid.  When the organ played, you could “feel” it in your bones.   I always thought the place was enormous … as an adult I realized it’s big but not immense.  The last time I was there as an adult was for a Judy Collins (I’m a huge fan) concert.  Cool place.  Great concert, too, as I remember it.  She’s talented and gorgeous … and can that lady sing?!?!?!  Oh … yeah!

My great-grandparents lived in Ocean Grove (Grandma Opdyke was a kind lady who always gave us peppermints and spare change for an ice cream cone), and it was amazing to see all those tents go up every summer.  Like almost overnight.  Those Methodists set up camp like a tribe of Lakota, with speed and efficiency.  And they were well decorated, let me tell ya.  Gorgeous inside … just like a miniature (expensive) house.  My brother and I liked to walk around at night when everyone was sitting outside.  No AC in those days (mid-1960’s) and everyone would sip cold drinks and swat mosquitoes or go for an evening stroll on the boardwalk. 

*sigh*  Sam Ewing was right: “When you finally go back to your old hometown, you find it wasn’t the old home you missed but your childhood”

